Silent Summer

Things have been almost non-existent, it seems, for me with blogging.  I’ve been occupying most of my time preparing for a double load of Latin in the fall.  I will be taking not only a course on Senecan Tragedy, focusing primarily on the tragedies of Thyestes and Medea, but also a course on Catullus.  Basically, I have over 3,000 lines to translate (!).  Since I’m taking another Greek course and will be starting German (again), in addition to the two Latin courses, I figured the time is now to start preparing.  I know I will regret when the fall semester begins if I do not start now.  I’m approaching completion with Seneca’s Thyestes (not translating, but familiarizing myself with the vocabulary and grammar) and will be starting Medea within the next few days.  Then about mid-July, I hope to resume going through several of Catullus’ poems.  So these are some of the things that are occupying my time.  I may blog a few short posts here and there during the summer, but for the most part it will be light.

At any rate, I hope that visitors and returning readers find what I’ve posted already useful for their ‘ancient study,’ including the Latin and Greek pages.

Leave a Reply

